Last updated September 20th, 2013 at 05:46 pm
Subscribe is a partially new feature introduced by Facebook. The time when Facebook introduced Timelines, they also introduced some other features as well. Not only the design of your profile is changed but many ways to connect with people have also changed. In this post, we will be talking about the subscribers that you have gained on Facebook. People in your friend list are automatically subscribed to your public feeds but definitely, you will not want to add everyone as your friend. In that case, Facebook let people subscribe to your public feeds. However, this is possible only if you allow people to subscribe to your profile. By default, the feature on your profile is enabled and anyone can subscribe to your public updates. However, if you want then you can control the subscription option very easily. This post is dedicated for the same purpose. If you are finding so many people subscribing to your public updates and you think that this is ruining your privacy that you have always maintained on Facebook then you have the option to disable public subscription.
Below is a complete tutorial about how you can enable or disable subscription option on your Facebook profile.
First of all, you will be required to log-in to your Facebook account. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the home screen where you can see updates from your friends. You need to sneak into your timeline, for which you can simply click on your name that is visible on the top right corner of your screen. This will take you directly to your time-line.
Look at your cover photo, just below that you will find different tabs as shown in screen shot below. Ignore all the tabs and click on “Subscribers” tab directly. This will take you to a new page.
Look at the screen shot that I have shared below, you will find different information on the page. You can see how many public subscribers you have and how many friend subscribers you have got. You can also search people to subscribe to their posts. However, you should click on “Settings” if you want to change the subscription option on your profile. Another option available is of “Edit” that can be used to edit how your subscribers can interact with you. But, we need to disable “Subscribers” from getting subscribed to your public updates so below, I’m going to describe how you can do this.
Now that you have clicked on “Settings”, you will see another dialogue box appearing in front of you on your computer screen. In very first line, you will find a heading of “Subscribers” below, you will find written “Allow people other than your friends to subscribe to your public updates”. Just in front of this text, you will find a button. Click on that button and from drop down menu, select “OFF”. This will disable everyone (other than your friends) to subscribe to your public updates.