Cricket – Its not a Game its Passion


Last updated September 15th, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Cricket is a passion especially in sub-continent. It is a historical game and is played or watched by many nations all over the world.

International Cricket Council

Cricket sport first originated in Great Britain in the sixteenth century. In professional cricket, the game is divided into three categories:

  • Test Match Cricket
  • One-Day International Cricket (ODI)
  •  Twenty-twenty Cricket (T-20)

Cricket is controlled by an independent council named International Cricket Council ICC. People play and watch it with great enthusiasm.

Test Match Cricket

Test Cricket Match in plain dress

Test match is the longest shape of cricket, it is played between two teams over a period of up to a maximum of 5 days. Test Matches determine who are the very best players and which are the best teams. In a broad sense, test matches are the platform where players and teams polished tactical.

There are ten Test playing teams in the world. Test status is awarded by the ICC. The test teams are England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.

The ICC is planning for staging of day-night test matches. This is a new thing which in included in test matches. However, all test playing countries may agree to play a day/night cricket under lights and with colored balls.

One Day-International (ODI)

One-Day International Cricket played in Colors

It is a limited overs game, normally fifty overs played between two teams. The first one day international cricket match was played in 1971 between Australia and England in Australia. This category of cricket played at night under lights with a white ball and colored uniform. The main recognized cricket playing nations are the same as above mention for test matches, but with the passage of time some new countries are included as, Kenya, Canada, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and United States of America.

Twenty-twenty Cricket (T20)

West Indies: T20 World Champions 2012

Twenty-twenty commonly known as T20, is a new form of cricket. This game is included maximum of twenty overs for batting which was introduced to create an attraction in this game like football. There is at least one T20 match along with other categories on international tours. Pakistan won the title of T20 world champions in 2009 and now West Indies are the reigning champions after wining the 2012 edition. is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, and we get a commission on purchases made through our links.