Managing Your Google+ Security and Privacy Settings


Ads :
Managing Your Google+ Security and Privacy Settings

Ads
Managing Your Google+ Security and Privacy Settings

You’ve heard all the hype about Google+. Since its launching on June 28, 2011, Google+ has
made a big splash on the social networking scene by attracting more than 25 million users.

Ads

But have you taken the time to see what type of privacy and security features that Google has
offered in Google+ ?

Here is a complete guide about Google+ security and Privacy settings.

Facebook and Google+ are two main competitors in market today and both has adapted its
privacy and security setting over the time. Facebook has a very strong system of security and
privacy measures. As with any social networking services, controlling personal information is a
primary concern. This quick guide can help you manage your privacy setting on Google+.

Open your Google+ setting by clicking on gear icon on the toolbar, then select Profile and
Privacy in Google Accounts panel. It contains information about your Google+ privacy setting
and buttons that enable you to control your public profile visibility, and photo album privacy.

Public Profile and Network Visibility


If you don’t want everyone in the world to be able to see who your friends are, then you’ll
probably use limit access to this information. To restrict who can see your friends and circles,
Click ‘Profile and Privacy’ link, then click the ‘Edit Network Visibility‘ button from the Sharing
section of page. Uncheck the box for ‘Show People In’. The default is to allow everyone to see
who are your friends and are in your circles.

Note that there are more fields besides the “Introduction” and “Links”. Clicking on the icon for a
given field opens a drop down menu in which you can select the people in that particular field.

Circles and extended circles are like groups in Facebook. Sharing with your circles and
extended circles, allows all the people in every circle to see your information. You can get
privacy control by selecting “Custom” from the menu.

You choose for your personal information visibility. It is always better to share personal
information with only certain circles, which is a fairly safe. Below your profile photo is a field
labeled “Send an email.” Clicking on the globe icon for this field produces a panel that lets you
include a button on your profile that viewers can use to send you email if you wish.

Further at bottom there is a link labeled “Change who is visible here.” Clicking on this link
displays a box where you can select to show people in one or more of your circles, no one,
everyone or the people in all your circles.

Checking How Your Profile Appears

Click on ‘Done Editing’ button and your setting are saved, when you adjusting your privacy
setting. If you want to see how your profile look like, then return to profile and privacy, enter a
Google+ user name in ‘See how your profile appears to others’ and click ‘Preview button’. Your
profile page will be displayed.

Photo Album Visibility

Google+ leverages the Google Picasa photo album system to manage the photos you want to
share. When you upload photos, you have the opportunity to specify the visibility of the album in
which they are placed by using a scheme similar to the one you use for your profile information
fields.
First, delete the “Public” button in the box above the “Share” and “Cancel” buttons. Then click on
the “+Add circles or people to share with…” link. This produces a menu from which you select
who can see the photos: any given combination of circles, all circles, all extended circles, or the
general public. Click on the “Share” button to put the visibility settings into effect.

After you have saved an album, you can change its visibility settings by clicking on the “Photos”
icon in the Google+ bar at the top of your main Google+ page. Just select “Your albums” in the
menu bar on the left. Then click on the album you want to update. When the album is opened,
follow the same procedure as before to adjust the visibility settings.

So be prepared to go through all your privacy settings and make adjustments as necessary when you use Google+.ok.

We hope that everything has been made clear in this simple tutorial. Still, if there is something that you can’t understand then let us know in comment box and we will help you solve your problem.

Ads