If you are a Facebook user who thinks likes me then you will definitely want to put some great privacy on your profile. There are certain parts of my profile that I want to show to others and then there are certain parts of my profile that I always want to keep private. Thanks to Facebook that it allows you to decide which information should go public and which should be held private. If you are clever enough, you can have complete control on your Facebook profile and how you share stuff with people. With the latest and advanced privacy features of Facebook, not only you can hide each and everything from others but you can also show certain information to certain people.
This post is also about deciding what information you should share with your friends and what information you would like to hide. The biggest change that we have seen in Facebook this year is the timeline. There was no timeline thing before but now, no one can avoid it. Facebook has gradually upgraded all the accounts to timeline which means that it is time to go through your privacy settings one more time and decide what information should be visible and what should be hidden.
If you want to hide your Facebook messages then let me clear one thing here. The posts that you are considering as your messages are not actually messages but those are wall posts from that time when comments feature was not available. So, if someone wrote something on your wall, in return you had written your reply on their wall. So, if those threads are showing on your profile then don’t worry at all because those are actually your wall posts and nothing else.
However, if you want to hide those wall posts from your timeline then you have two options. Either you can remove those posts from your wall/ timeline completely or you can decide who can see those posts and who cannot see them. In this post, we will be going through the process of hiding your Facebook messages via second method.
Click on the arrow on top right corner of Facebook screen to see a drop down menu.
From this drop down menu, you should click on “privacy settings”. In privacy settings, you can do many things but we will tweak the posts visibility only here.
A new window will appear in front of you that will have different options. You need to find “Timeline and Tagging”. Once you will locate it, there will be an “Edit Settings” link in front of it. Click on that link and a new box will appear in front of you.
Here you will find many other options. You are required to find “Who can see what others post on your timeline” and change its settings from public to Friends (if you want your friends to see messages).