Facebook timeline privacy settings


Ads :

It doesn’t matter whether you like Facebook timeline or not, it is here and it is going to stay here unless Facebook comes up with a new crazy idea about complicating your simple social media life. People have mixed feelings for Facebook timeline and I’m from those who don’t really like the idea. One of the short comings of Facebook timeline is that, it exposes a lot of your private information without your permission. To get the issue resolved, you will have to sneak into the privacy settings once again and make sure that no additional information is being displayed on your Timeline.

Facebook timeline privacy settings
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Facebook timeline privacy settings

Timeline Tell-all

I still remember the old interface of Facebook in which is someone wanted to access my wall posts from years back then they were required to keep scrolling down unless they find the required stuff. The timeline has made it very simple to find information shared by anyone in any year or in any month as well. While finding information has become really simple and easy, it may not be a good thing for you because you may want to keep certain things private. So, I’m going to tell you how to fix this issue.

Ads

Make Your Timeline Private

The very first thing that you need to do is to make your profile private. It doesn’t mean that you should forbid everyone to have access to your timeline information but you can decide who should be allowed and who should not be welcomed on your timeline.

Facebook timeline privacy settings
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Facebook timeline privacy settings

For this purpose, you will be required to go to “Privacy Settings”. After that click on how you connect and then click on “Who can post on your timeline?” and change it form “Public” to “Friends”.

Make Your Timeline Private
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google+
  • Pinterest

Make Your Timeline Private

Next, look for “Who can see posts by others on your timeline?” You should also change it from “Public” to “Friends”.

Again go to the Privacy settings. Now, click on “Timeline and Tagging” and change the settings of “Maximum Timeline Visibility”. If it is set to “Public”, change it to “Friends”.


You can also select “Only Me”, after which no one will be able to see content of your timeline.

Hide Past Posts

You may not want to show your past posts on your timeline as well. It is totally up to you and you are the one who decides whether past posts should be displayed on timeline or not. There are two ways to hide your past posts.

You can go to each past post individually and change the audience for that post. For sure, this will take a lot of time but in this way, you can decide which post stays on your profile and which gets hidden.

This is an easy to hide your past posts but keep in mind that it will hide all the past posts from your timeline and change their visibility to “Friends” only. Go to “Privacy Settings”, here you will find an option for “Limit the audience for past posts”. Click on “manage past post visibility” and then click on “limit old posts”. This will hide all your past posts from those people who are not in your friends list.

Ads

Pin It on Pinterest